Grammartopia!

October 9th, 2017

I’m excited to have been invited to join the panel for author Kris Spisak’s “Grammartopia”—an event described as: A game-show style panel in the vein of “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me,” where three panelists battle it out over their language-use savvy in this entertaining and educational program. Audience prizes will be awarded as well.

If you don’t think grammar can be fun, check out this video of a previous Grammartopia event!

“Grammartopia” will held at 3:00 p.m. on Sunday, November 19, at the Durham County South Regional Library,  4505 S. Alston Ave, Durham, NC 27713.


“Sip & Sign” event September 9!

August 16th, 2017

Get ready for an evening of fun! The Carolina Romance Writers Sip & Sign event is a multi-author book signing bringing romance authors and readers together for a couple of hours of fun over good food and beverages. Free to attend, and first 45 attendees will receive a free goody bag! I’ll have copies of The Captain’s Daughter, as well as books from the Love’s Grace trilogy. I would love to see you there!

Carolina Romance Writers “Sip & Sign”
Saturday, September 9, 2017
5:30-7:30 p.m.
Texas Land & Cattle, 7779 Lyles Lane
Concord, North Carolina

 


Cover Reveal!

June 25th, 2017

Here is the cover for book 2 in the London Beginnings series, called
The Heart’s Appeal. Isn’t it gorgeous!!?

The heroine, Julia Bernay, is standing in front of the Royal Courts of Justice. Very fitting since the hero, Michael Stephenson, is a barrister. The Royal Courts of Justice looks a bit like a cathedral, doesn’t it? But it’s another example of lovely Victorian architecture.

Here’s a bit of what the book is about:
Julia Bernay has come to London to become a doctor–a glorious new opportunity for women during the reign of Victoria. When she witnesses a serious accident, her quick actions save the life of barrister Michael Stephenson. He rose above his family’s stigma, but can he rise to the challenge of the fiercely independent woman who has swept into his life?

Look for it on March 8, 2018!


Book Signing for “The Captain’s Daughter”!

June 1st, 2017

Book signing on June 10, 2017

2-4 p.m.

Oak Park Tea Room

5208 Holly Ridge Dr., Raleigh, NC

What better way to toast the launch of the “London Beginnings” series than with a good English tea in a lovely and eclectic tea room? 🙂

  Cost of $15 includes tea, treats, and an autographed copy of the book. There will also be live music and plenty of lively conversation, so join us for a fun afternoon! To help us plan, please leave a comment here if you think you can come or RSVP at the Facebook page here: Novel-Tea Event

 

.


Romance Writers Tea March 26

February 11th, 2017

I’m excited to be part of this upcoming Romance Writers Tea along with Sabrina Jeffries and Erin Knightley at the Wake County Northeast Regional Library on Sunday, March 26.

Address is 14401 Green Elm Lane, Raleigh, NC 27614.

If you are in the area, I hope you will join us!

NC_Author_Tea


Cover Reveal!

October 22nd, 2016
Releases June 1, 2017 from Bethany House!

Releases June 1, 2017
from Bethany House!

I’m so excited to share this cover with you!

Here’s a bit of what THE CAPTAIN’S DAUGHTER is about:

When a series of circumstances beyond her control leave Rosalyn Bernay alone and penniless in London, she chances upon a job backstage at a theater which is presenting the most popular show in London. A talented musician and singer, she feels immediately at home and soon becomes enthralled with the idea of pursuing a career on the stage.

An injury during a skirmish in India has forced Nate Moran out of the army until he recovers. Filling his time at a stable of horses for hire in London, he has also spent the past two months working nights as a stagehand, filling in for his injured brother. Although he’s glad he can help his family through a tough time, he is counting the days until he can rejoin his regiment. London holds bitter memories for him that he is anxious to escape. But then he meets the beautiful woman who has found a new lease on life in the very place Nate can’t wait to leave behind.


Deal News!

March 13th, 2016

Book fireworks

I’m so happy to announce the sale of my new 3-book series to David Long at Bethany House. The trilogy follows the stories of three orphaned sisters, now young women, who each find a new life—and love—in London. The book is scheduled for release in 2017.

As I love to do in my books, I’ve placed this series against the backdrop of real places and events. The first book, THE CAPTAIN’S DAUGHTER, is set backstage at the original production of Gilbert and Sullivan’s comic operetta “HMS Pinafore” in 1879.

If you like Pinterest, I’ve made a board here that will give you a “sneak preview”!

 


“Well-written, sweet, passionate and fun…”

February 5th, 2015

I recently received a wonderful review for A Bride for the Season from the Historical Novel Society. They even mention Much Ado About Nothing, which makes the Shakespeare geek in me very, very happy!

Here’s an excerpt from the review:

“This delightful Victorian romance (set in 1853) concludes Delamere’s Love’s Grace Trilogy yet can just as easily be enjoyed on its own, independent of the series. There is something in this story that is reminiscent of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing, including the complexity of the characters and the amusing resolution of the plot. Well-written, sweet, passionate and fun—and all that without a single scene of graphic love!—A Bride for the Season is a most enjoyable read.”


It’s a Virtual Cookie Exchange!

December 18th, 2014

I was tagged last week by fabulous historical mystery author Susan Spann to contribute a recipe to a virtual cookie exchange. (Be sure to visit her post for an amazing gingerbread recipe, as well as links to other participants in this tasty event!)

VirtualCookie-Exchange-Blog-Hop-1-200x300I am a few days late on this, but there is still plenty of time to enjoy this during the holidays!

For your snacking pleasure, I now present my best cookie recipe, which came down to me, as good recipes generally do, from my mother.

BUT BEFORE WE BEGIN…

You may balk at one of the ingredients, but I assure you it is the SUPER SEKRIT thing that makes these cookies extra special!

Ready? Okay, then.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

2 1/2 cups regular flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) of I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter, softened to room temperature*

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup light brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 cup white chocolate chips

1 cup macadamia nut bits, or chop larger pieces in two (use raw, unsalted nuts only)

*I’m pretty much of a purist, and if you are like me, you are instantly thinking, “Well, I’m not going to use that. I’ll replace this with REAL butter.”  But if you do, I warn you they will not be nearly as good.  I don’t know why. It’s just one of those mysteries of the universe.

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Sift together first 3 ingredients; set aside.

In a large bowl, beat butter, sugars, and vanilla until creamy. Add eggs; beat well. Gradually add flour mixture, beating well with each addition. Dough may be soft; stir in a little more flour if needed. Stir in chips, then nuts. Drop by teaspoons onto lightly greased cookie sheets, allowing room for the cookies to spread as they bake.

Bake 9-12 minutes, depending on oven and how brown you want the cookies to be. The nuts will brown quickly, so you may want to turn the trays at the halfway point in baking.

A FEW HELPFUL HINTS:

If you prefer, you can replace the flour, baking soda, and salt with 2 1/2 cups self-rising flour.

All drop cookies work better if dough is chilled. If you don’t have time for that, keep the macadamia nuts in the freezer (which is best anyway because of their high fat content), and stir them in frozen to chill the dough.

These cookies freeze well, if you want to make them ahead of time for a special occasion.

WRAPPING UP…

So there you have it! The secret recipe is out. If you make them, be sure to tell me how they turned out! And enjoy!

Wishing you a very happy holiday season and a happy new year!

Jennifer Delamere

Victorian sleigh trimmed


SALE! A Lady Most Lovely

December 5th, 2014

ladymostlovelyA Lady Most Lovely is currently on sale for $1.99 on ALL eReaders! Now is a great time to get a copy of this award-winning book, or to give as a gift!

A Lady Most Lovely won the Maggie Award for Excellence from Georgia Romance Writers. It also received a prestigious starred review from Publishers Weekly, which called it an “intense mid-Victorian Christmas story” and said, “The undercurrent of attraction between Margaret and Tom is a powerful force that keeps the story moving.”

Find all the eBook buy links here.